Sundog –noun 1. parhelion. 2. a small or incomplete rainbow.

Winter is on the Way

I had intended to post back here more frequently, but my health has been up and down, especially the last few weeks.

We have gotten our winter preparations well under way. October saw us finish changing out the leaky tarps over our tent – a project encompassing two years while letting the new tarps off gas. There has been a great deal of catching up on other small projects around camp. Mostly projects that were unable to be done during our steep decline in health over the last year.

October also saw the end to my six month long sinus infection. It took a combination of antibiotic and antifungal treatment simultaneously, along with a few other additions to help with sinus drainage. I saw an initial surge in energy after I was done with treatment, but this has ebbed somewhat as other influences have sapped my reserves.

A majority of our state medical coverage is ending on December 31st this year. This has changed some of our plans for winter prep as we have had to fit in dental appointments while we still can. The good news is that cavities I had a few years ago have healed themselves. For more information on remineralizing your teeth, a good start would be an article by Stephan Guyenet at Whole Health Source called, “Reversing Tooth Decay.”

Our main struggle right now is with different viruses making homes in us. It feels like each week sees us with a new cold or flu bug. This could be a good thing if it is caused by our bodies waking up to the viruses it is host for. Or it could be a bad thing as our immune system is too weak to fight any of them off. Only time will tell the story.

I do have to wonder how much of our slump the last several weeks was caused by too much birthday fun. With both mine and Jeremy’s birthday’s falling less than two weeks apart, it can get particularly festive around here. It could be that too much ice cream lead to another Candida yeast overgrowth in our guts. Having cut all sugars for three weeks is helping lower many of the symptoms I would attribute to this possibility.

The weather has suddenly shifted from a warm Indian summer into a cold Fall. At its coldest point last night, it was the same temperature as you would find in your refrigerator. Come December, we will be living in your freezer – next to the ice cream perhaps!

I am looking forwards to the colder weather, because it will kill off the molds that have been plaguing me since spring. On the other hand, it also brings smoke from chimneys and wood stoves that is aggravating our asthma and making breathing more difficult at times.

It is a rollercoaster time for us right now, each up comes with a down shortly after. I am thankful to have any up swings at all, as this was not happening most of the last year. With some luck and a good amount of hope, we will see next year bringing more ups than downs again.

12 responses

  1. Snez

    Hooray for the upswings in health :)
    But no matter what, you know that I’m here to support you during your rollercoaster ride :)
    And you are quite welcome to live in our freezer any time, we will throw in the free icecream. What flavour do you want? :D
    hugs :)

    November 11, 2010 at 8:37 pm

  2. Something with fudge would be excellent, please! :D

    Do you have a large freezer? I would want Jeremy to be able to keep me company or I may get bored. lol

    Thanks for the support Snez! Hugs. :)

    November 11, 2010 at 8:39 pm

  3. Mark

    Thanks for tht tip on Tooth decay. WHo would have thunk one could heal tooth decay. I love it!

    I think it may help me with my regular health in general. I have difficulties abosrbing minerals in general, so maybe I can reduce my grain intake to help with my low mineral status.

    Rich Van K just mentioned something about getting a cold or flu could be ones immunes system activating on a post in PR. I know I haven;t gotten a cold or flu for years, and many folks with CFS don;t. I hope it is a good sign you got a cold!

    Take care you two.
    Mark

    November 12, 2010 at 9:43 am

  4. Hi Mark! :)

    I will have to go find that article by Rich, it sounds very useful! I’m happy you found the dental article useful, Snez hooked me up with it when I was puzzling out my disappearing cavities. Good luck with less grains and more mineral absorption! I suspect going Paleo, adding vitamin D, and eating lots of celery (high silicone content) are what has helped my teeth.

    Big hugs, Lisa

    November 12, 2010 at 11:21 am

  5. You intrigue me…I’ve bookmarked the page on reversing tooth decay so that I can read it without this horrible headache I’m enduring right now. But your blogs are great! Thank you for the information, I look forward to reading more from you!

    November 12, 2010 at 5:09 pm

  6. that is so cool about your cavities going away!

    I’m so sorry for the rollercoaster ride you are on and the cold you are living with.

    thinking of you and glad the sinus infection is finally gone!

    November 19, 2010 at 8:09 am

  7. Thank you both very much for the comments! :D

    I’m incredibly thankful to have the infection gone.

    Big hugs, Lisa

    November 19, 2010 at 1:52 pm

  8. Nice to see you posting again, Lisa. :) Hope this winter is a mild one for you, weather-wise, and a hearty one for you, health-wise. Thanks for the post on reversing tooth decay — a serious problem for me since becoming bedbound, despite brushing and flossing obsessively. I’m off to check it out now. :) Happy holidays to you!

    November 22, 2010 at 10:02 am

    • Hi Laurel! Always good to see you. :D

      I know what you mean about tooth decay, it is such an easy thing to have happen when ill. Hopefully some of the information there will help your teeth!

      Happy holidays too and best wishes for the next year seeing us both up and dancing in the summer sunshine with glorious good health. :D

      November 22, 2010 at 3:38 pm

  9. That article about healing teeth was pretty encouraging. Jess has been having ongoing problems with his teeth, and it’s good to know it doesn’t have to continue to go in that direction. Thanks for posting that.

    You can squeeze in beside the frozen chicken and chops, that’s where we put the carnivores who live in our freezer.

    November 22, 2010 at 12:10 pm

  10. Awesome Jody! He’s already on the Vit D, that’s a big step in the right direction. Add in some vitamin K and get him on the same low carb diet you’re eating and he should be good. :D

    Good to know I have other freezers available to live in. Australia may be a bit far to do all in one stretch. ;)

    November 22, 2010 at 3:42 pm

  11. Stephan Kupisz

    Hi,

    I too live in a tent in the woods here in NH in a town called, Laconia… Been here for 6 mos so far & 3 mos another time, but am planning on being here much longer..I came here because of love 4 yrs ago,got a social security income finally but choose to live this lifestyle because an apt. is expensive & with my heart condition I need to be stress free although the cold compounds my problem. I’m alive… I’d send you pics via email to show you the lonliness I’m faced with. I got a jeep cherokee that takes me in-out of woods whenever the trail doesn’t get snowed in too much. My tent is partially collapsed at the moment after the last snowfall. Had been sleeping in my jeep nearby till my money comes in next month where I can buy a real 4 season tent to live in & a snow blower hopefully with some tire chains to get me in-out.

    There’s more to my story, I invite you to contact me via email as I do have cell phone & web access… I’m at the email address I signed in on… ;) Please do write if you can… I pray you survive and hope for the best in our lives ahead,,, Thankyou for the dim outlook on living in the woods what people really don’t realize there are more of us out there,,,

    Sincerely,

    Stephan

    P.S. God Bless you both, know this,,, Your testimony is seen and I know we are together in this! Take care…

    January 22, 2011 at 1:15 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers