Sundog –noun 1. parhelion. 2. a small or incomplete rainbow.

Winter Arrived Early

An early snowstorm and cold front brought some amazing weather this week. This time I decided to capture it on film!

Last week Planet Thrive published an article I wrote on how to survive in a tent during winter. I found the last few days entertaining as I had to live the same advice I had just written about … especially the times I blatantly went against my own advice! Such as eating half frozen paleo pancakes for dinner when I had no way to get warm afterward – but ohhhh, they were good!

While going through all this, I came across an article about Leonid Rogozov, a Russian surgeon who in 1961 had to remove his own appendix or die. Admittedly, it made me feel like my own experiences of the last 48 hours paled in comparison, but I also felt a kinship to him.

People tell me that they can’t imagine living as I do with these difficulties and hardships. And yet, the same drive to look outside the box for ways to survive and take them in stride is the same drive Leonid would have felt fifty years ago.

I wonder sometimes – is this imperative to live genetically coded in our DNA, or is it a function of something more ethereal and hard to define?

There are many people out there who quickly buckle under stress and become hopelessly lost in a crisis. What is different in my life compared to theirs that has prepared me to be calm and decisive under pressure? As far back as I can remember, I have always been this way.

When I was 9, there was a large earthquake in Los Angeles; it was my first. I went to school like normal and to me it was just another day, more exciting than most, but nothing to worry about. Later that night, my mom told me she had gotten a call from my teacher. I’d been so calm and helpful with the other kids who were crying wrecks, that on a hectic day she was impressed enough to take a few spare moments and tell my mom personally.

Have the same genetics that cause me to be toxically ill from everyday life also given me the strength to survive the devastation they cause? Or maybe the human spirit for survival resides in a less well defined place.

My accomplishments are less dramatic than the stories told of legends and heroes, but it is with these people that I feel a hard won kinship. It fills me with a warm joy and chases away some of the loneliness life has brought me, because I know my feet walk the same path theirs once did.

And I have to wonder, did they also feel the same loneliness that I do?

5 responses

  1. Snez

    Hiya there Lisa :) A lovely reflection- your accomplishments are admirable.
    I bet most of those hero and heroines from the days of yore had their acts of courage embelished and exaggerated.
    Gigantic hugs for the loneliness you experience, especially since this situation has been foistered on you and that you did not choose to live a reclusive life.
    I know that you are, at heart, a social and party animal :D so it is even harder to keep up the morale.
    You are my hero! :)

    November 27, 2010 at 12:58 am

  2. Hi Snez :)

    Are you suggesting that I embellish and exaggerate my stories more? lol :)

    Yay! Always good to hear you’re someone’s hero. :) Do I get a cape now? Oh, wait – already have one anytime it rains. :D Hugs, Lisa

    November 27, 2010 at 2:14 pm

  3. I think loneliness is the one thing those of us who have MCS have in common. I look out the windows of my “bubble” watching the world go by and I feel lonely here, too.

    I’ve lived in the woods, in the wintertime, too, in upstate New York. It’s tough, really tough. Sometimes I’m glad I’m too old to do that anymore!

    I enjoyed your survival articles. Stay strong and drink lots of tea . . . swan . . .

    December 12, 2010 at 6:31 pm

  4. Thank you for stopping by and writing Swan. Small things like this help connect us and relieve some of the loneliness.

    I hope I’m not doing this when I’m too old for it, though some days I sure feel 100. O.o

    Big hugs and happy holidays! :) Lisa

    December 12, 2010 at 7:18 pm

  5. I’ve just finished reading your articles on Planet Thrive. We too live in the woods, though our housing is a few degrees beyond tenting, and the feeling of isolation remains a common one.

    Resilience and creativity surface when you live under a tarp. The journey is for us a spiral where old habits get revisited, chucked or hybrid and new things mix.

    That’s for the reminder about reversing cavities too … (in another post). It’s just what I needed to add back into the mix of living from a vardo in the woods.

    Many blessings for a good winter and a wonderful next year. Stay well, and thanks for your blog.

    Mokihana

    December 21, 2010 at 9:46 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers