Sundog –noun 1. parhelion. 2. a small or incomplete rainbow.

Nude Beach

Have you ever been to a nude beach? I went to my first one today!

Little Beach, Maui – Hawaii

Little Beach is part of the Makena State Park and known for being clothing optional, as well as it’s Sunday night drum parties. It’s a very nice little cove at the end of a quarter mile hike. The snorkeling wasn’t spectacular, however we saw some fish we’ve never seen before – including a small school of fish probably each the size of a large dog. As well, several sea turtles made the whole trip very worthwhile.

Yet, we didn’t go to Little Beach for the snorkeling – we went for the whales. Humpback whales migrate here each winter from December through April. According to my research, Little Beach would be just about the best place from shore to watch them passing by. Shortly after we arrived we were greeted with an amazing site. Two adult humpback whales only a few hundred feet off the shore, swimming along and doing their own thing. Though we didn’t see much more than their back spines each time they came to the surface, it was a fantastic site that brought tears to my eyes.

I mean, how fantastic is it to have seen something like that so close in the wild?

I wasn’t on a boat with dozens of other tourists or some other modern means to be out on the water with them. No, I was just standing on the shore of a beach I’d hiked out to and seeing them as I am, a human on land, and as they are, majestic beauty in the ocean. Absolutely one of the most amazing things I’ve seen in my life.

This isn’t the first time I’ve seen whales, not even here on Maui – just something about them being so close I felt like I could nearly touch them… wonderful.

Have you ever wondered what whale songs are like in the wild?

Sometimes when you snorkel here during the winter you can hear them signing to each other underwater. This is the second time I’ve been lucky to hear them. Today they were loud enough to be easily heard, even over the white noise of the choppy waves we were snorkeling in. It was very magical, especially the times when we’d find a turtle to swim with. Whales whistling and calling to one another, following a sea turtle as it wandered the reef, scores of brightly colored fish swimming below us – I’ll always remember this.

I found myself at one point being struck by how diametrically different my life is now compared to March in Washington while living in a tent. Almost every year the last snow of the season would be sometime in the next two weeks. We’d be completely and totally exhausted from surviving another freezing and snowy winter only to look forward to a ridiculous amount of rain for the next two months, praying this summer would be warm and sunny. Often times it would be a wet summer too with nary a good, hot day to burn off winter’s chill before turning into Autumn and starting the cycle all over.

Instead, here I was snorkeling nude in the ocean, warm sunshine on my backside, while swimming with whales and turtles!

If life can change so dramatically for me in such a short period of time, just think of what else I can do. I am getting healthy again, there is no doubt about that, and sometimes like today I can really feel just how possible it is to change my situation for the better. It has taken an enormous amount of hard work and tenacity, but just look at where I am now!

I used to feel like I could inspire others to follow their dreams, grow as individuals, and reach places they thought were too distant – but sadly, I couldn’t do that for myself. Now I look at how life has changed me…I can be my own inspiration and reach my own dreams.

If I were to be able to speak to the illness that has stolen so many years of my life, I would have to quote one of my favorite movies – “Through dangers untold and hardships unnumbered, I have fought my way here to the castle beyond the Goblin City to take back the (life) that you have stolen, for my will is as strong as yours, and my kingdom as great — You have no power over me.”

8 responses

  1. Great photos, Lisa, and I love hearing about your snorkelling and hearing the whales calling.

    Isn’t great to feel as though you are actually Living some sort of Normal Life again.

    I think the warmth of Maui, living with a roof over your head & getting some exercise out in the fresh air is the best change you could have made in your Life.
    All you need to do now is increase your activity a wee bit on a regular basis and try some more social interaction (where possible).

    You may yet wake up one day and find a normal life with a job (even a part-time job would be good).

    Lots of Love
    Vicki
    xx

    March 14, 2013 at 4:13 pm

    • Thanks Vicki! I love having a camera that can take underwater pictures, even if it is just a point & shoot. :D

      I’m shooting for a normal life with a great job, best to plan for the tops! :D HUGS!

      March 14, 2013 at 10:29 pm

  2. Snez

    Yay to whales, turtles, nude beaches and warm weather. :) Hip Hip Hooray :)

    So happy for you, Lisa, that you are having such awesome experiences. How wonderful and absolutely amazing that you got very close to a whale or two and heard their beautiful sounds. :)

    I’m with you on the ‘you have no power over me’!

    May you live long and prosper dear Lisa and Jeremy! V :D
    HUGS!!!! :)

    PS I was sort of half expecting a fuzzy shot of ‘au naturel’ Lisa swimming with the turtles. :) But then I thought, of course not, what was I thinking? :)

    March 15, 2013 at 2:36 am

    • heh, no shots of me as I was that day, don’t want to get my blog flagged! lol :D HUGS!

      March 18, 2013 at 5:49 pm

  3. Thank you for sharing this, it brought tears to my eyes, tears of inspiration! You deserve all the good the world has to offer, I wanna see it all come true for you! Big hugs from chilly Norway. We woke up to yet another surprising winter wonderland this morning, though it was spring time when we went to bed.. :D

    March 15, 2013 at 7:21 am

    • Thank you, Bella! I was looking out my window this morning and imagining snow. It was kinda nice. :)

      March 18, 2013 at 5:50 pm

  4. Marian

    Healing…nature, sunshine instead of cold rain…who would have imagined this several years ago? I am so happy for both of you.

    March 15, 2013 at 10:35 am

    • Thank you, Marian! Agree, never would I have been able to picture this as really being able to happen. Makes one really stop and think about what can be done sometimes. :)

      March 18, 2013 at 5:51 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers