Sundog –noun 1. parhelion. 2. a small or incomplete rainbow.

New home for Tashi. :(

I’ve been down and out of life for the last couple of months, mostly because Tashi has been waking us up multiple times a night since mid-February. She’s a wonderful cat in all other ways, but sadly she has trouble with being afraid of things in our home environment which we have zero control over.

The main trigger for her nightly wake-ups seems to be our neighbor’s voice coming in through our windows at all hours of the night. I don’t blame the neighbor, she works until midnight and we knew that before moving in. Everything is at a normal speaking volume, she’s just awake much of the night. We’ve worked far too many lousy jobs that require that sort of shift to complain about someone else who’s working that shift and simply unwinding at night by chatting with their boyfriend.

And so we’ve found Tashi a new home. It’s a good home and she will be moving there at the end of this week. There are 3 other cats and a dog, along with some nice folks. A much bigger home, more windows for her, and most importantly – neighbors who’s windows are much further than 5 feet away.

I’ll be very sorry to see her go. I haven’t posted much about her here, but she’s been a real highlight in our lives these last 6 months. Were it not for this constant lack of sleep and what it’s done to our health (a full stop on our healing progress for CFS and some regression), it would be a great joy to keep her with us.

However it seems to have come down to staying tired and feeling useless in life or keeping a wonderful cat – oddly it was a hard choice. But then being tired and feeling useless is actually what most of life felt like since becoming ill in 2001 – it’s only recently begun to change at the end of last year so I’m not as familiar with what that feels like anymore.

What I do remember of December (2012) and January (2013) was a great deal of delight in feeling my energy coming up, actually being able to see and feel life returning to a more normal picture, and being happy that my existence isn’t dictated solely by feelings of Chronic Fatigue Syndrome and Multiple Chemical Sensitives. Thankfully, I’m still seeing MCS improvements, even just yesterday going into a store (Costco) that we had to avoid in the past like the plague due to all the odors and such. Now it was just as I remembered it from when I went as a kid with my mom on shopping day – everything smelled just the same, not overwhelming or frightening. Life with MCS really is coming to a close and it’s both a brilliant and wonderful thing.

I know this can happen with CFS too and unfortunately its all too clear that right now that means as best of sleep as we can manage so our nervous systems can calm down instead of being jarred awake several times a night. Truly, Tashi is going to a great home with one of the worker’s at the cat sanctuary we adopted her from – actually the woman who helped us pick her out. The woman had always wanted Tashi, seemed a little sad to see her go, but had not wanted to make the commitment before. She’s had a change of mind now that she’s seen just how wonderful and loving Tashi is as a house cat – they’ll do well together I think.

Hopefully in a few weeks time Jeremy and I will be seeing more energy again. Neither of us can hardly wait for the adventures on our horizon and have lots of motivation to make them happen. Brighter days should be coming our way, even if they are a little more lonely without my dear Tashi.

6 responses

  1. I’m really sorry to hear that you have to give Tashi away, Lisa, but I fully understand and appreciate how important sleep is to both you and Jeremy.

    I hope you are able to recover some energy through better sleep and able to get out some more exploring the island.

    V
    xox

    May 14, 2013 at 6:51 pm

  2. Thank you, Vicki. It has certainly been a decision that has weighed heavily on my heart. Big hugs!

    May 15, 2013 at 11:55 am

  3. Tashi will be doing great, you have worked sooo hard with and for that cat, she takes with her huge amount of true love and caring from you in her soul-backpack when she leaves :) I am thrilled and almost in tears to hear about your experience at Costco, to go in there like before, and have it be okay. I have learned and still earn so much about strength and love from you guys, and cannot imagine the cat that has lived with you for so long will leave with nothing less than a newfound security and inner peace thanks to you!

    May 16, 2013 at 11:43 am

    • Bella, thank you. I really love the notion of a soul-backpack Tashi’s taking with her full of our love. Beautiful! Thank you. HUGS :)

      May 16, 2013 at 10:43 pm

  4. Sorry for the spelling mistakes, and my messy wording, I hope you got what I meant :D You’ve given that cat a great new foundation :)

    May 16, 2013 at 11:45 am

    • I didn’t notice a single mistake or messy wording. Made complete sense to me! Aye, you are right – we have built her a foundation with which to join her new household. Tomorrow morning is the day. I’m sad, but excited for her (and me) all at the same time. I feel like I’m taking her to her first day of summer camp or college – gone and missed, but we are both ready. :)

      May 16, 2013 at 10:45 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers