Sundog –noun 1. parhelion. 2. a small or incomplete rainbow.

Crossfit or CFS, which to choose?

It’s been almost two months without Tashi and I still miss that little girl. She was a great cat to have around, lots of personality and love. In this time without her I’ve asked myself if there were something I could have done differently, and while there always will be that question, I know I did my best. I’ve spent a lot of time trying to let the pain go and be happy for her. She is doing well in her new home and I wish them all the best in the world.

Meanwhile, Jeremy and I have started some at home Crossfit workout programs again. If you aren’t familiar with them, google them! They kick your butt and keep kicking. However, at the end you feel pretty good for what you’ve done.

How can two people with CFS do Crossfit? Aren’t they too strenuous and tough? Aren’t we pushing for a crash or setback?

Nope, not a problem. Just determination and a lot work on the Gupta program to get me here. I’ll talk about it more in the future, this is just a quick update before I run off to go soak my very weary muscles in the cool ocean.

Today’s workout:

“Dumbbell Bear Complex”
5 Dumbbell Deadlifts
5 Dumbbell Hang Clean
5 Dumbbell Thrusters

All 3 together = 1 set.
Do 1 set each minute for 20 minutes or as many rounds as you can.

I used 10lb Dumbbells and managed 9 rounds, a new personal best!

2 responses

  1. Sounds great, Lisa.

    I genuinely feel there are many CFS/FM sufferers who could do some form of exercise – you just have to find what works for you and persevere without pushing yourself too hard and ‘crashing’. And, you’ve got to take it slowly. I can’t do the 600 repetitions of the morning routine I did 10 years ago, in fact, I can’t even do 15 repetitions without a flare-up of inflammatory pain, but I CAN do slow walking. It occasionally aggravates my old ankle injury, but that’s an ankle injury, not CFS/FM. The scans show osteoarthritis has already set in that joint.

    Good to hear you and Jeremy are thinking positive and moving forward.

    Love
    Vicki
    x

    July 12, 2013 at 6:46 pm

    • How odd, I always have to “approve” your comments, Vicki. I fully agree with you. I’ve often read strength training exercises are the best for those who have suffered from CFS and that certainly is what the Crossfit does. We make sure to fully recover between workouts and never push to the point of injury, add in a lot of mental exercises to the mix and bam! I’m actually buiding muscles. hehe

      Big hugs!

      July 12, 2013 at 8:42 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers