Sundog –noun 1. parhelion. 2. a small or incomplete rainbow.

Week Six: An Early Spring?

Time has flown by these last couple of weeks. Today marks the start of week six and we are still going very strong. Other than El Polo Diablo, we have stuck 100% to strict Paleo – zero grains, sugars (refined or otherwise), potatoes, and legumes. We only ever drink water so it has been very easy to also skip all coffee/caffeine and alcohol.

This last week both Jeremy and I have begun to feel small, noticeable improvements occurring in us. As our bodies are adapting more and more to this new way of life our meals are keeping us satiated longer. The afternoon snack we seemed to have needed every day, we have skipped more often than not this week. We are looking forwards to seeing our food bill going back down again as time progresses.

In the last three days we have both been having small bursts of increased energy and ability to get things done. Finally starting to very slowly get caught back up on the things we had to let go around camp, we were really knocked down by El Polo Diablo and then an ankle injury Jeremy suffered last week.

I was amazed today to realize just how much I have been able to do these last several days around camp. Such as doing many tasks that would normally be Jeremy’s but which his injured ankle has prevented. Small things like making the short hike to our refrigerator several times a day have been easy this week where as the trip would make me feel like collapsing only two weeks ago.

Day by day our bodies are silently healing. Just as the first hints of an early spring are coming to life all around me, so too is are the beginnings of an awakening of my body and its ability to regain functionality in life.

A maple seedling with it's old seedpod hat.

I watch the tiny maple seeds that have begun sprouting from the soil and can not help but be awed at the massive accomplishment of life the fully grown, towering maples have achieved around me. From quiet and humble beginnings these maple trees have sought but one thing here under the thick canopy of leaves, to grow tall and strong so that they may one day reach their leafy boughs fully into the sunlight that lures them ever upwards.

Maples on our road last fall, reaching for the last of the sunlight before it drops below the horizon most of the winter.

Maples on our road reaching for the last of the Fall sunlight October 2009.

I have lived too long under the gloom of this illness. The time has come for me to sprout out of my protective shell and take a chance at growing too. For it is only through walking into the unknown that I will one day find myself standing high atop a distant peak with the wind whipping through my hair and the sunlight a golden glow upon my upturned face.

8 responses

  1. Very positive! Wonderful! 🙂

    February 2, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    • Thanks Jody!

      Big, maple sized hugs 😀

      February 2, 2010 at 9:30 pm

  2. Snez

    Great! I am pleased your bodies can now do their job of healing without being hindered by diabolical chickens and the like. 😀

    February 2, 2010 at 10:45 pm

    • Diabolical chickens… you crack me up Snez! 😀

      Big ol’ hugs!

      February 2, 2010 at 11:10 pm

  3. PenguinThief

    I love the picture of the sprout and the imagery you built around it. Awesome that healing is going on more and more; can’t wait for a proper spring tho. Down our way we’re getting ready for 15+ inches of snow, and the reports continue to grow.

    Meep!

    February 4, 2010 at 5:01 pm

  4. Wowzers Grant! Just rain here tonight though it could easily snow again before full spring in April. We almost always have one last snowstorm in March for some reason. lol

    Thanks for the awesome words! Penguin hugs to you! 🙂

    February 4, 2010 at 6:15 pm

  5. wow! the maple bud image is simply gorgeous and the words you used are lyrical and deeply moving to me.
    coming out from under that gloom of illness is such a wonderful thing – a bit scary at times perhaps but so invigorating and can feel like a fresh new start on life.

    I loved your words ‘day by day our bodies are silently healing’.
    I’m so happy to hear about your improvements. Our bodies have such power to heal when we get roadblocks out of the way!

    many blessings to you both

    February 5, 2010 at 8:26 am

    • Wish I could take credit for such a wonderful picture as that maple seedling, but I did find it on the web. The picture of the grown maples is all me though. 🙂

      Thank you very much for stopping by Libby. I read the last several blog posts on your site and it sounds like you are having a very interesting journey too. I am looking forwards to reading more of them. 🙂

      Have a really lovely day and I hope you keep seeing such great results! 🙂

      February 5, 2010 at 3:51 pm

Leave a Reply

