Sundog –noun 1. parhelion. 2. a small or incomplete rainbow.

Brief Update

A couple weeks ago I injured my left wrist while slipping on one of our dirt paths around here. They get a lot of loose gravel and debris on them when the weather turns warm and dry after months of rain, all the mud dries leaving stuff loose under foot.

A few re-injuries of the same wrist while trying to let it heal and here I am a couple weeks later still only able to type with my right hand. I am on the mend and hope to have the use of two hands in life again within a couple weeks at most.

Both Jeremy and I have seen over the years that one of our persistent symptoms, indeed one of our very first even, is a decreased healing speed from injuries. Tissues knit together slower, muscles and tendons take longer to come back up to strength, and easily being re-injured is fairly common even while being very vigilant and careful.

I am greatly looking forward to being able to write more here as it has been an interesting couple of weeks!

The darkness of my persistent sinus infections is gradually being lifted as I continue to use my nebulized medicines. My antibiotic course ended four days ago and I have now started the anti-fungal. Overall, I feel much better and more energetic from being rid of the bacteria infection. I am hoping to see more improvement in a week or two as the fungal infection is also destroyed.

10 responses

  1. I’m so glad to hear about the sinus improvements. What a nightmare.

    Sympathies for the messed up wrist. Don’t know if it would be the same thing at all as what I get in my right elbow to hand or not… just in case I mention Lymphagen … it has kept me functional more than once. Doesn’t always work but it usually does.

    It’s my Windex (from Big Fat Greek Wedding:)

    You are persistent and tenacious. It has to pay off.

    You have done really well at helping your doctor determine what’s been wrong this last while. Your instincts are good. Your knowledge and experience make you sharp. Even when you don’t feel like you are. πŸ™‚

    You are getting better. You’re going to win.

    July 24, 2010 at 10:15 am

    • Thanks Jody! I’m happy to have you stop by today. πŸ™‚

      I still have a small container of that cream around but also still react to it. :/

      I really love that word – tenacious! It has always resonated in me. I even remember the first time I heard it. πŸ™‚

      Cool hugs in case you’re still in a heat wave! πŸ™‚

      July 24, 2010 at 2:58 pm

  2. You really do hang in through the worst times and it’s what keeps you going. Glad to hear about the sinus improvement. I’ve noticed slower healing for a long time since I got sick. My best friends now joke that if a doctor gives me an estimate for an injury to heal that I might as well double it. The healing happens. I just have to wait longer. My thoughts are with you!

    July 25, 2010 at 3:17 am

    • lol, Jeremy and I have the same sort of joke, Pris. Oh, going to take 3 weeks to heal… well I’ll plan on being good again in 6! Sorry to hear you have this too, but very nice to not be the only one like this. πŸ™‚

      Many hugs and happy thoughts to you too Pris! πŸ™‚

      July 25, 2010 at 10:52 am

  3. Snez

    Hi there Lisa πŸ™‚

    Glad you are making it through this latest rough patch. You are such a tough chook πŸ™‚ and it amazes it how you triumph over adversities such as this. Cheering you on πŸ˜€

    Looking forward to your stories that couldn’t be written due to injuries. πŸ™‚

    hugs galore πŸ™‚

    July 25, 2010 at 4:09 am

    • You’re getting just as bad with smilies as I am Snez! lol πŸ™‚

      I’m looking forwards to telling them so its good to know I already have an audience waiting for them… uh, way to turn the pressure on. πŸ˜›

      Glorious hugs back! πŸ™‚

      July 25, 2010 at 10:55 am

  4. So sorry that you’ve injured your wrist & continuing to have sinus troubles. I know what you mean with the last one… for years I had recurrent sinus infections. As a matter of fact, I think they were the last straw on the pile that led me into full blown Chronic Fatigue Syndrome in 1990. Plus, recurrent antibiotic prescriptions made my immune system worse and weaker in the long run. Each time it had a harder & harder time “staying” well. Thank the good Lord I’m better now. Wishing you good health, too, hon. Feel better now, you hear?

    July 25, 2010 at 12:33 pm

    • Hi Cinda! πŸ™‚

      Sounds like a bad time for you. I am happy to hear that you’re well and the reccurent infections are not coming back! πŸ˜€

      Thanks for the well wishes and good thoughts your way of continued good health! lisa πŸ™‚

      July 26, 2010 at 12:36 pm

  5. PenguinTheif

    *sneaks into the room* Excited to hear about the interesting parts of the last couple weeks! I bet you had an over-sized rabbit threaten your garden which you later hired as a Bunny Bouncer. *nods* It’s what I would have done, so you know you made the right choice.

    *hugs* Hehe, hope your wrist is safe from further harm and heals soon; and surely glad to know the sinus crap is getting better. Rar.

    July 25, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    • lol, how on earth did you guess that?! I thought for sue nobody would figure of what the excitement has been about! πŸ˜€

      Bunbun the bouncer bunny sends his regards and some of the garlic plants he took a nap in last week.

      hugs from me too! Lisa πŸ˜€

      July 26, 2010 at 12:40 pm

Leave a Reply

