Sundog โ€“noun 1. parhelion. 2. a small or incomplete rainbow.

Take a Deep Breath, Now LEAP!

Today is my last morning with a computer before it too is packed away in a cardboard box and sent ahead of me towards my new home. Over the past four weeks, I have evaluated each aspect of life I collected around me – weighed and determined if it was valuable enough to warrant shipping or if I would finally part ways with it to lighten my load.

It is surprising how little I chose to keep.

I have always been a packrat by nature. This enthusiasm to keep things that might one day be ‘useful’ has still persisted even living in a tent year around, but what is useful here is not always the same as what is useful indoors in Hawaii. Certainly the sharp axe used to split small logs will be left behind, while our amazingly comfortable camp chairs have passed inspection and are already at our new apartment.

I find as our camp dwindles in clutter, a great deal of contentment begins to infuse my being. It is as though I am washing away a decade of grief and pain caused by a dramatic loss of health, family, and nearly everything I once was.

The woman who sits here today is a very different person to the one who walked into this exact camp site 7 years ago. Before now, I had never lived in a single place longer than a few years. How odd that I finally found the stability in housing I always longed for by living in a tent.

Am I scared of these new changes to come? You bet I am. It is all unknown – this will be the first time Jeremy and I will live outside of a tent on our own while ill.

But I am also hugely excited. Despite the fear, I will be stepping out of darkness and into the bright world beckoning me the last several years. I will walk with my head held high, the strength and courage I found in these dark years supporting me when my knees are weak with fear.

And so this is my last post from a tent – as always I am full of hope and determination to see myself and Jeremy walking forward into our future instead of looking back at our past.

Good bye tent. Hello Maui!

9 responses

  1. Isabelle Mackenzie

    ALOHA Lisa!

    It is said that the greatest journeys all still
    begin with a single step. As you two take your first steps forward into the first day of the rest of your lives, may this giant leap of faith bring you one step closer to living out your dreams, to improved health, WARM winter months, much happiness and a daily appreciation of God’s beauty that will surround and engulf you in a totally different environment. May happiness, peace, love, successful accomplishment of your dreams and many new friendships envelope you in Maui.

    I will be looking forward to seeing your posts from the beautiful island of Maui. Be happy my friend…..Aloha!

    June 12, 2011 at 7:46 am

  2. jason

    good luck with the move to the both of you, mauii sounds niiice!

    June 12, 2011 at 7:46 am

  3. How exciting! Can’t wait to hear of how this new chapter in your life unfolds. And I can’t wait to see the photos of your new, beautiful home in Hawaii! ๐Ÿ™‚

    June 12, 2011 at 7:56 am

  4. Thank you for the support and well wishes! I’m offline as of now. ๐Ÿ™‚

    HUGS TO EVERYONE LEAVING COMMENTS!!

    June 12, 2011 at 8:33 am

  5. This is so exciting!! Be sure and post when you’re settled! I was well when I moved to Hawaii to live for a year but I, too, got rid of nearly everything for the move. It felt like a load off of my back. I’m so envious. Wow!

    June 12, 2011 at 9:31 am

  6. Lisa and Jeremy,
    I feel your joy and am wishing you all good things! I will be keeping track of you via your blog. Congratulations of this part of your journey. xoox, Julie

    June 12, 2011 at 3:39 pm

  7. victoriaaphotography

    Gook luck with the move Lisa. Hope you & Jeremy find not only improved health, but a future filled with possibilities beyond your current imagination.

    Today is the first day of the rest of your life. May it be filled with happiness & joy, love & laughter and the very best life has to offer ……………………………..and a smooth & worry free plane journey.

    Love
    Vicki

    June 12, 2011 at 6:34 pm

  8. Snez

    I’m finally back from Melbourne Lisa! And ALOHA my friend! ๐Ÿ™‚
    It is so fantastic to know that you are in Maui now. Absolutely cannot wait to hear all your stories from this tropical isle ๐Ÿ™‚

    Rest well in the warmth and sunshine, with a non-tent shelter over your head for the first time in seven years. Can’t wait to celebrate- you can bring the mangoes and coconuts, and I will bring the lamb roast ๐Ÿ™‚

    So happy and pleased for you!

    Big big hugs ๐Ÿ™‚

    June 18, 2011 at 3:06 am

  9. You’re there? this is fantastic! When settled, tell us all the details.

    June 18, 2011 at 3:22 am

Leave a Reply

