Sundog –noun 1. parhelion. 2. a small or incomplete rainbow.

First Week in Maui

I have been here in my new apartment in Maui for a week now. After 9 years, 6 six months, and 1 day in a tent we are finally indoors.

Maui is a beautiful place and it already feels like home. There was about two days of culture shock in which I had to adjust to wild chickens and many close neighbors, though I am more accustomed to it now. Hopefully in the next few weeks I will learn to sleep through roosters at 6 am and neighbor noises through the walls.

I have many pictures, but have not located the cable to download them from my camera. Most things have arrived in the mail unharmed, though my pc was not one of them. For now we are back to being a one computer family and I find it to be rather pleasant. It encourages us to interact together instead of being less than a foot apart physically yet miles away mentally.

I find myself feeling no worse than I would have mere weeks ago and often I feel noticeably better. This is very promising of future things to come for healing. Our apartment is steadily airing out and has promise to be an MCS safe haven despite having semi-toxic neighbors.

The rigors of a month to pack and relocate thousands of miles away have left me easily fatigued the last couple days. Next post I’ll hopefully be able to share some pictures!

13 responses

  1. This is wonderful!!!! At some point, along with sharing pictures, tell us how you happened to find an affordable place in Maui. Did you know someone who owns the building or lives in it? It really must be different hearing neighbors for the first time in all these years. I’m so excited for you!

    June 21, 2011 at 2:11 am

    • Hi Pris! πŸ™‚ I’ll write something up today or tomorrow explaining how I got here. πŸ™‚ HUGS!

      June 21, 2011 at 2:31 pm

  2. Snez

    YAY!!! πŸ˜€
    Has it really been a week? Wow hasn’t time gone past very quickly?

    I am so so happy that you are adapting very well to living in Maui without too many nasty effects. Very hopeful beginning πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    lotsa hugs

    June 21, 2011 at 4:13 am

    • It has indeed Snez! A fast week and I’m already feeling hugely disconnected from tent life. It’s more like a lengthy dream I had last night than being nearly a decade of my life. Very odd, though helps with making the transition back to mainstream USA and getting my feet under me.

      HUGS!! πŸ™‚

      June 21, 2011 at 2:36 pm

  3. Sheri/Sheridragonfly

    We visited Maui, which is a non commerical island and we loved it.
    We loved the rain forest and high up in the cattle country , I think that is on the west side.
    Photographing the ocean waves on the cliffs and the black lava rocks was beautiful..
    there were many beaches with different colors of sand, gold sand, black sand etc..
    Are you residing on the west upper side near the rain forest area?
    Beautiful island..Happy you arrived there..
    Take care, Sheri/Sheridragonfly

    June 21, 2011 at 6:23 am

    • Hi Sheri! We are on the northeastern side of the island – wet and a little cooler than the coast, but not too high in elevation. About 800 feet I think the landlord said.

      I would love to see a black sand beach firsthand instead of only in movies and pictures. We can hardly wait to go beach hopping once we get some wheels of our own! πŸ˜€

      HUGS! πŸ™‚

      June 21, 2011 at 3:47 pm

      • Sheri/sheridragonfly

        That black sand beach in Maui a little further than where you live. when you get wheels
        it is up from you further up toward the rain forest..eastern side of Maui..
        I am so happy for you.

        .I can visualize being there with you and your husband
        from my memories of our 10 days there on Maui…
        When you get to the rain forest area, you can picnic there and then
        go past a country store past the rain forest..there is a road that leads
        on around to the south side of Maui and to a winery!

        They had posted to not use the road but we did anyway because it was dry
        and no rain the week before..we made it fine…and really enjoyed our drive
        up the rain forest and past the country store and on through the untamed
        looking area of Maui..

        I had meet a friend online who had MCS named Karen…she lived on Maui for 20 years
        and just left to move to California…this spring..
        She mentioned the chickens too! LOL
        Chickens and crowing in the morning!

        could be worse though, could be ambulances going by with sirens,
        in a city, and we know of the toxic fumes, and air there..in the cities..
        I have MCS too….

        Have a wonderful week!

        In christian love,
        Sheri/ Sheri dragonfly

        June 22, 2011 at 7:45 am

  4. Isabelle Mackenzie

    Hey Lisa! SO glad to hear that you and Jeremy have arrived safely and seem to be settling in nicely with little negative implications of living indoors again….awesome! What part of Maui are you living in? It is such an incredibly beautiful island. I was there once…only place in the world I have an incredibly strong desire to revisit! Keep us posted on how things are going for you both.

    ((HUGS))

    Isabelle

    June 21, 2011 at 7:25 am

    • Hi Isabelle! πŸ™‚ Mostly covered the area in the other reply, but I will add that it is rural. Chickens galore around here too. heh πŸ™‚

      HUGS!!

      June 21, 2011 at 3:48 pm

  5. Fantastic. Absolutely freakin’ fantastic.:)

    I knew y’all could do it. πŸ™‚

    Jody

    June 21, 2011 at 7:53 am

    • Hi Jody! Thanks! I’m surprised by how well this all went. πŸ™‚

      HUGS!!

      June 21, 2011 at 3:48 pm

  6. Dan

    Hi Lisa,

    I’m so jealous Lisa! Are you sure you don’t miss the freezing cold winters and all the rain? πŸ™‚

    My nephew got married in Maui in 2007, and although I couldn’t get around as easily as everyone else, I propped myself up to take his wedding pics, and managed to survive — actually felt ‘okay’ when I got back, maybe due to all the vitamin D. I remember those chickens, and all the other exotic bird calls, often quite early in the AM, but some of them were SO cool.

    There was one bird whose call sounded like a squeaky broken bicycle — and really loud too! I’d be really curious to know if you encounter him/her in the future.

    I wish you the best, and hope to stay in better touch.

    June 21, 2011 at 10:55 pm

    • Nope, no squeaky bike bird – but occasionally a strangled pig squeal from across the street. πŸ™‚ I’ll be uploading a few pictures in a minute, but will do the pig picture soon. Now that I know of the squeaky bike bird, I’ll always be wondering what I’m hearing when out and about with that noise floating by!

      Big hugs Dan! Lisa

      June 22, 2011 at 6:10 pm

Leave a Reply

