Sundog –noun 1. parhelion. 2. a small or incomplete rainbow.

Snorkeling!

Our big snorkeling adventure was a blast!

It’s also a lot of work on this previously bedbound body. Amazingly we snorkeled for about an hour before needing to get out of the water. I spent a fair bit of that hour simply floating while watching the fish on the coral below me. I have never snorkeled before, only wore the gear in the swimming pool a few times and the bathtub as a kid.

It was just as peaceful and relaxing as I had always dreamed it would be. I think the experience will only get better as my physical conditioning improves and I can move around easier. Though we spent an hour in the water, we both would have been happy staying in there all day.

My mom always said I was part fish because I would often be the last kid left in the pool or river even after everyone else was long since out. It was nice reconnecting with the part of me who adores swimming and feels incredibly one with the water.

We did learn one interesting fact shortly after we were done swimming and went onto the beach to dry off – there is a price to be paid for that much fun. Not only have we both ended up with sore muscles all over and various light sunburns, but apparently the ocean water is going to stimulate heavy detox.

The sore muscles and burn was expected, but the detox was a big surprise. Complicating things for me was having water trapped in my ear making me even sicker. Luckily some of it passed within an hour out of the water, but the majority of detox symptoms persisted all day and into the next.

While detox is a good thing, it can be a little overwhelming at times – especially when caught completely by surprise. We will be more prepared next time and recover quicker. In time, this detoxing should allow our health to improve considerably as long as we do not push our bodies too hard, but instead keep it slow and steady.

Again I find myself wondering where our health will climb to in the next several months as everything seems incredibly promising for the first time in a decade. If ever there was a doubt moving to Maui was going to be a life changing adventure, those doubts are fading like fog hit with the first rays of a welcoming sun filled morning.

Here’s a few pictures Kimberly took of the trip:

Threadfin Butterfly Fish

Jeremy in the middle and I'm on the left.

Coral, Threadfin Butterfly, Sea Urchin

Jeremy looking for hidden treasures.

10 responses

  1. I snorkeled before I got sick– down in the Florida Keys. It’s beautiful gazing down at all the formations and fish. I love your photos and yes, the detox will pass. Already you’re doing so much much. Hooray for this move.

    July 3, 2011 at 2:31 pm

  2. Hi Pris! πŸ˜€ It’s nice having you cheer me on, thank you! πŸ˜€

    July 3, 2011 at 2:44 pm

  3. Snez

    Fantastic, I also love snorkelling. πŸ™‚

    The last time I went snorkelling it was off the Indonesian island of Lombok some 16 years ago. Because I was so engrossed in the spectacular underwater life I got sunburnt on my bottom and thighs! but it was well worth it…

    I’m so happy for you guys… enjoying yourselves and finding the energy to do so after all these years. πŸ™‚

    hugs

    July 3, 2011 at 4:02 pm

    • Snorkeling in Indonesia – way cool! πŸ™‚ The burned bum… not so cool. hehe

      hugs back at ya Snez! πŸ™‚

      July 4, 2011 at 2:07 pm

  4. victoriaaphotography

    Sounds like a lot of fun (says this Aussie who can’t swim & hates water). So pleased to hear that you’re enjoying snorkelling.

    But take it easy.

    Build your exercise up slowly.

    No doubt the sun exposure and vitamin D intake is going to have a profound effect on your wellbeing too.

    I’m sure you will see signs of health improvement every day now…….

    July 3, 2011 at 5:24 pm

    • Will do Vicki! We were already thinking we needed to take it slower too. πŸ™‚

      I sure hope you are right about the improvements, sky’s the limit… nah, stars are the limit! πŸ˜€

      Hugs!

      July 4, 2011 at 2:08 pm

  5. Sheri/Sheridragonfly

    I enjoyed sharing your joy of going snorkeling in Maui
    by reading about it!
    I am so happy for both of you to be living there!
    It brought back memories of my being in Maui and
    doing the same out at the crater area off Maui.
    Have fun, take care of yourselves as I know you will..
    Sheri/sheridragonfly Alabama..USA

    July 3, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    • Hi Sheri! Be ready for more fond memories to be stirred, I’m sure I’ll be posting more snorkeling pictures in the near future. πŸ˜€

      Likely one day you’ll see one and think, “Hey, I recognize that!” πŸ™‚

      Hugs!

      July 4, 2011 at 2:09 pm

  6. jace

    I’m grinning all over my face, hearing your fantastic news! Last I heard of you guys was on PR, and now here you are able to do stuff and with a roof over your head and the blessed ocean to explore. Yay!

    Give my love to the geckos.

    July 13, 2011 at 2:15 am

    • Hi Jace! πŸ˜€ Thanks for popping by! I’ll give your love to the first gecko I see. hehe πŸ™‚

      Big hugs! Lisa

      July 13, 2011 at 11:33 am

Leave a Reply

