Sundog –noun 1. parhelion. 2. a small or incomplete rainbow.

A Doctor and a Friend

I just finished writing a postcard to send to Dr. Buscher, the physician we have been seeing these last 7 years. It was a surprisingly emotional experience.

He is a man who stood by us when many a doctor would have walked away. We were never made to feel like we were the reason our health was failing, but instead he understood that we did everything we possibly could to become well again. Considering the months it would take for us to go from him handing us lab work papers and the tests actually being run, months again between visits, and a severe lack of money complicating things further – he never gave up on us.

And when times became darkest last year, I couldn’t find my way out of the nightmare my health was plunging into – Dr. Buscher was there to light the way and guide me back.

Without his help over the years, it is unlikely we would have made it to see this wonderful island of Maui and find joy in living again.

Thank you Dr. Buscher for everything you’ve done and my only regret in moving to Hawaii is that I couldn’t take you with me!

5 responses

  1. victoriaaphotography

    Kind, compassionate & caring doctors are rare. Very rare. Hope you find a good new Dr on Maui.

    (I’m lucky in that way, but dread the day my local Dr retires).

    September 14, 2011 at 9:23 pm

  2. It’s wonderful to find a good doctor. I’m so glad he helped you both so much. I have a good doctor, too, and count myself lucky.

    September 15, 2011 at 3:10 am

  3. Finger’s crossed, right? 🙂

    I’m trying to remain open minded about finding another good doctor, but it is difficult. It was several bad doctors before finding Dr. B, I just hope that being in my mid-30’s now and 10 years of chronic ill health behind me will make the search easier.

    September 16, 2011 at 3:16 pm

  4. Hi Lisa. I have literally stumbled onto your blog whilst bumbling around the blogosphere (my 12 year old has CFS and the net is a lifeline for me – well not as much as it must have been for you but a lifeline nonetheless) and just wanted to wish you luck and thank you for sharing your story. The whole wilderness living that you’ve had to do blows my mind. I sincerely hope this Maui relocation brings you both back to a very happy and healthy place. Best of luck

    September 18, 2011 at 2:09 am

    • Thank you for writing Annie! I hope you find much luck with helping your child’s health! I do fully agree about the net being a lifeline at times. There are a few people I’ve met online who have been amazingly supportive, despite the physical distance between us.

      Big hugs and thanks for stopping by! Lisa

      September 18, 2011 at 2:21 pm

Leave a Reply

