Sundog โ€“noun 1. parhelion. 2. a small or incomplete rainbow.

Winter in Hawaii

I could not have imagined a winter as warm as this. Today has felt more like summer than it has winter. Around Christmas we had 3 weeks of Autumn-like weather – seems that was our winter!

Along with the warm weather is more air pollution in the winter from VOG – volcanic gasses which are heavy in sulfur. They tend to linger at times due to lower Trade Winds and cause the air to feel heavier, more polluted. How polluted? Well, I’d take VOG any day over all the wood smoke we’d have this time of year in Washington. Not to mention the presto logs – those things were toxic to be stuck downwind in their smoke! On the other hand, we are more sluggish on VOG days and it can cause headaches at night for me.

Sunshine – we are in the midst of a lovely period of sunny weather. Weeks of it even!

I remember in Washington we had two warm winters when the winds came up from Hawaii bringing sunshine and zero snow. We always daydreamed about how wonderful it would be to live someplace where it was always that warm – now that I’m here I must say it’s a fair bit warmer than I would have believed possible!

T-shirts and shorts are the norm and still you’ll find yourself a bit hot by noon. I love it!

In fact, I love it so much that I did something today which exemplifies winter in Hawaii better than anything else I could say at this point.

I went skinny dipping in the ocean!

It’s been years since I last stripped off my clothes and hopped into a body of water. Doing so today felt like gaining back a small part of myself which was lost when illness struck.

I may still be tired and sick, but I can swim naked in the ocean with the warm sun upon me like a younger me once enjoyed.

That makes me happy.

6 responses

  1. How amazing to skinny dip in winter – now aren’t you soooooooooooooooo glad you moved home and state.
    Hope you’re enjoying some great sunsets. I’ve been following a photogapher’s blog (who is holidaying in the region). I must say the colour in the sky of his images has been absolutely stunning.

    January 17, 2012 at 11:36 pm

    • We tend to see a lot of sunrises, only a few sunsets so far and all obscured behind the hills to the west of us other than some brilliant skies at times. They truly are magnificent. One sign we are doing more well again will be when we can get out to see the sunset from the beach – so far that has been too late in the evenings.

      Big hugs. ๐Ÿ˜€

      January 18, 2012 at 5:00 pm

  2. Snez

    Hi Lisa ๐Ÿ™‚
    So glad for your experiences with consistently warm weather. Hooray for the heat! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I must say I love the tropical warmth down here in Tas, we had had some brilliantly warm days.
    People say they feel hot when it reaches 32C and I just think it is perfect ๐Ÿ™‚ I am so thankful that I don’t feel consistently cold this summer.
    Yay for skinny dipping… that must feel so delicious and freeing ๐Ÿ™‚

    hugs and love ๐Ÿ™‚

    January 18, 2012 at 12:40 am

    • Mmm, the heat is good for me too. I did get pretty chilled those three weeks we had winter. lol I’m happy to be warm again. This is something I could get used to. ๐Ÿ˜€

      I’m happy to hear you are finally feeling warmer too Snez. I remember some summers you never have lost that chill. Hugs!

      January 18, 2012 at 5:02 pm

  3. Happy to hear you are enjoying the healing warmth of the sun and the ocean! May your VOG days be few!

    January 18, 2012 at 11:18 am

    • Thank you! ๐Ÿ˜€ I hope they are few too. Right now we are in a weather pattern of VOG for at least today and tomorrow as well. I’m hoping it lifts Friday as predicted.

      Big hugs!

      January 18, 2012 at 5:02 pm

Leave a Reply

