Sundog โ€“noun 1. parhelion. 2. a small or incomplete rainbow.

Time for a Move

Nearly a month ago, it became apparent it was time for us to find a new place to call home. While I do love our little studio apartment, we need someplace a little more suited to our quiet and peaceful lifestyle.

As I’ve been finding out this last month – obtaining safe and affordable housing with MCS can be a real pain in the keister!

I have tried over a dozen rentals and none have the necessary requirements for our needs – mainly mold free with non-toxic flooring, no fresh paint, and zero pest control spraying. I’ve not a clue how we ended up finding our current rental so easily, it was a total fluke!

Luckily we are not on a time limit for having to move, so if the right place for us doesn’t show until next month that will be ok… though the stress is pretty incredible.

Not only are we limited by our health needs, but there is also a large amount of competition for any reasonably priced rental. Within hours of a rental being listed it will have had close to a half dozen calls or more from people looking for the same price range we are. This puts a tremendous amount of pressure on us to be one of the first people to call or risk losing what may have been a rare MCS friendly rental.

My world has narrowed down to keeping myself ready for action at a moments notice on a good sounding rental and dealing with the stress our living situation is causing.

Meanwhile, I have been lucky enough to follow a dream I’ve had for many years, easily half my life, and purchased a good DSLR camera last month. Funny timing on it, as there is not a chance I would have bought it had I known less than a week later I would be searching for a place to move. Yet, I’ve found a great deal of enjoyment in snapping pictures of our various journeys around the island this last month and it has been a much needed source of relaxing calm in my life. I hope to have some photos ready to share on here soon, though it may take until after our move for that to happen.

The house hunt continues. I still have high hopes with each phone call and email, that this could be the next home for us. I just hope it is sooner rather than later as I’m ready to be moving on.

7 responses

  1. victoriaaphotography

    What will be, will be.
    I’m sure you will find the perfects place eventually, but then, is any rental property ever really perfect. I’ve moved about a dozen times in my adult life and each new place has it’s good points (and occasionally bad points).
    But each time, I’ve adjusted and overcome the annoying or difficult issues, in time.

    But now I have certain MCS issues like you Lisa, I dread the enevitable next move.

    April 25, 2012 at 5:15 pm

    • Wow, I just counted up the number of moves I’ve made in my lifetime. Six that I can remember from before I was 18. As an adult I was even more nomadic in housing and I’m on home #19 – which doesn’t include a few times of moving back to an old place I’d previously lived in. Shesh!

      Most of those were moves I had made between the age of 18-25 years old. I must be settling down a little. lol

      I’ll have to think on this some, it does put life into a bit more perspective when one thinks of all the moving around in the past. When I was a kid, my mom used to have to leave me at my grandparents when we’d move because I would become too stressed by it. Obviously as an adult I had no such trouble, until this move.

      I think I would like to embrace that freedom once more. ๐Ÿ™‚

      April 26, 2012 at 12:14 am

      • victoriaaphotography

        Don’t think about what you’re leaving behind, Lisa. Think about what you might be moving to and it will seem all the more exciting and adventurous.

        April 26, 2012 at 4:02 am

  2. Snez

    Hiya Lisa:)
    You are coping remarkably with the stresses thrown out at you at this stage of your life. I believe that the right home will be available at the right time.

    Meanwhile that camera of yours is giving you some inspiration and joy in your life no doubt ๐Ÿ™‚
    And, of course, your friends are there to emotionally support you and inject some further joy ๐Ÿ˜€

    HUGS!

    April 25, 2012 at 9:19 pm

    • Indeed Snez. ๐Ÿ™‚ I have certainly been drawing strength from the good friends I have. Now you all need to move here to Hawaii and we’ll get a giant plantation home together. Perhaps we’ll grow our own crops and livestock… Jeremy’s always wanted to have goats! Big hugs back at ya! ๐Ÿ™‚

      April 26, 2012 at 12:16 am

  3. priscampbell

    Are you leaving because of noisy neighbors? You said that chem sensitive wise it was perfect for you. I’m wondering if another apartment,less noisy , in the same complex might open. What are rents running now in your part of Hawaii. It’s laughable to think now that I lived on Oahu in the late sixties in a two bedroom apartment for 245 dollars. Of course I only made 12,000 a year. Good luck and congratulations on the camera!!

    April 27, 2012 at 3:54 am

    • Hi Pris. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Aye, you could call them noisy – if noisy would describe a herd of elephants living next door! lol Our place has been pretty good for MCS, but in the last couple of months the neighbors have also been changing that, at this point we have to leave our main ventilation windows closed 24/7 due to them. Overall, this apartment isn’t for us anymore. It’s a small unit (sort of a duplex) and there are no others here to rent.

      Wow, $245? ๐Ÿ™‚ That would be an incredible bargain nowadays! lol

      Thank you for the luck and congrats! Big hugs, Lisa ๐Ÿ™‚

      April 29, 2012 at 10:20 pm

Leave a Reply

