Sundog –noun 1. parhelion. 2. a small or incomplete rainbow.

Home has been Found!

Aloha! I am thrilled to say we have found a new apartment to rent! Hooray!! A week after finding it, we were moved out of the old and into the new. It has been an incredibly busy three weeks as we accomplished all of this.

Our new place has had it’s ups and downs for our health, for example we had to clean off old cleanser and soap residues from past cleaning, making it more MCS safe for us. We still can’t use the cupboards as they need the most work, but that is something that will become better with time and they do not cause trouble unless opened.

There is still much hard work ahead of us and it will take time to regain our energy and health back to where it was even four months ago, but I am feeling highly positive it is already happening.

It has been one heck of a road which led us here, with a huge learning curve about finding an MCS safe apartment. Had I known four months ago what I know now about finding a safe rental, I’ve no doubt it would have taken half the time. Thankfully, I had the forethought to write myself notes on how to make our rental search easier in the future, since the whole process is already becoming a foggy memory.

Already we are feeling the stress of our rental journey slowly lifting from our hearts and our minds, freeing us for a much more positive and brighter future. It feels wonderful to have found a place that holds so much promise of being a safe healing environment.

Our apartment is more of a ‘mother-in-law’ style unit, fully detached from the main house where our new landlord lives with 3 other family members. They have all made us feel extremely welcome and like we belong here. It is an amazing feeling to be around such kind hearts and positive energy.

In just the last two weeks we have expanded from the survival mode of finding a rental to living again. Jeremy has begun making jewelry for the first time in a couple of months. We’ve been swimming in the healing ocean 3-5 times each week (up from once every 10 days or so). Also we’re having fun planting a few seeds for a small garden with more seeds ready soon as the energy is there.

In other words – life has once more started to bloom for us.

11 responses

  1. Victoria

    Sounds absolutely wonderful Lisa,
    I sure am hoping you & Jeremy get back to the better health and energy of when you both first moved to Maui.
    Love
    Vicki
    x

    August 23, 2012 at 11:41 pm

    • Thanks Vicki! Me too. πŸ˜€ Hugs!

      August 24, 2012 at 10:37 am

  2. Snez

    Hi Lisa πŸ™‚

    Needless to say I’m so thrilled for you and Jeremy πŸ™‚ It so fantastic that you feel warmly welcomed by the landlord + family… this sure counts for a lot. πŸ™‚

    Is the ocean closer where you are at this rental?

    It surely will get better and better as time goes on. πŸ™‚

    with love and hugs

    August 24, 2012 at 1:06 am

    • Our favorite beaches are indeed closer!! It takes us 25 minutes now instead of 45. Definitely helps get us there on the days we have the least oomph for a drive. Hugs back!

      August 24, 2012 at 10:38 am

  3. So glad to hear! Enjoy!

    August 24, 2012 at 6:57 am

    • Thanks Peggy! Its a nice surprise to see you here. πŸ˜€ I’ve heard much about you from Jeremy and Ron. πŸ™‚ Big hugs!

      August 24, 2012 at 10:41 am

  4. Hurray for new apartments! πŸ™‚

    August 24, 2012 at 10:42 am

  5. marian smartt

    I am so happy for you both. I cannot imagine trying to find an MCS safe place to live. As my illness progresses I am becoming sensitive or downright allergic to so many things. I am learning to make almost everything that I use on my body or in my home. This is no easy task due to lack of energy. I cannot imagine the energy it took you to just move. Others of us have to move frequently and my heart goes out to all. It must be awful. I feel so blessed to have my home in the woods…literally. But things can change in a moment…
    Keep swimming in that healing water, rest and soak up all the positive energy around you!
    Love you guys!

    August 24, 2012 at 4:30 pm

    • It’s excellent you are leaning to make all that stuff Marian! I make some of the stuff we use, but much of it is beyond me right now. I think it’s pretty cool you are able to do that, though I can certainly understand how hard it must be with low energy. It’s interesting to me sometimes what we manage to do simply because we have few other choices. I try to look at things like that and turn it into seeing how I am happy to be doing it, despite the circumstances.

      In this case, I’m glad to be out of our last apartment, though had things gone slightly different I think we would have stayed there for years. This is completely the better place for us, but without that nudge we’d never have known. Same with eating 100% organic now – not something I’d choose to afford given our limited incomes – but something I can really appreciate doing each time we have a meal and its that much tastier!

      I’m so happy you have such a great place to live. I’ve actually thought that several times when I’ve seen your pictures from there. πŸ™‚

      Big hugs!!

      August 24, 2012 at 9:41 pm

  6. Wonderful news! I’m currently searching for housing too and know how difficult it can be with MCS and mold sensitivity. Congratulations! Hope this turns out to be a long term location for you with lots of healing. Maybe one of these days I’ll make it to Maui πŸ™‚ I miss the weather in Hawaii and the beach.

    August 25, 2012 at 12:57 pm

    • Aloha Janis! πŸ™‚ Best of luck with your own rental hunt. Best advice I can give is to look at everything that meets your required criteria to be safe and go from there after you see it in person to know if you can be there. But always ask if they spray chemicals for bugs or weeds, put simply like that you tend to get a lot more direct answers.

      Usually they thought I wanted the place sprayed and would often apologize for not spraying. Weird!

      Big hugs and see you some day here! πŸ™‚

      August 25, 2012 at 3:28 pm

Leave a Reply

