Sundog –noun 1. parhelion. 2. a small or incomplete rainbow.

Garage Sale – Win!

Welcome to my poorly photographed Hawaiian lanai – aka my porch!

Good lesson to be learned here – never try for a picture during mid-morning sun. I didn’t even think about the bright sunshine lines when taking the photo, I was just excited to share my garage sale findings this morning. So on with the show!

Here is my lanai at our new apartment. On the other side of the green fabric is the main house’s lania which is used by our landlady, Gigi. It’s mostly a private area with only occasional use of the hose or trimming of the plants by the landlady sending her over this way.

As you can see, it gets a lot of nice sunshine throughout the day. We are currently growing cilantro, dill, and hot peppers – along with a pulmeria tree and several orchids. In the background are banana trees and several other native plants.

LP-120908-0003-Garage Sale2

But what I really wanted to share is the stuff in the foreground of the photo – today’s garage sale finds. Gosh, these tables are hard to see with all the bright sunshine lines in the background. Anyways! You are looking at 3 tables we found at a yard sale this morning – one end table which oddly is from the same design as a kitchen table/chair set we already had, one folding plastic topped table for Jeremy to use for selling jewelry at the farmer’s market at some point soon, and one sort of coffee table that is exactly the size table we really needed right now.

There is also a three tier wire shelving unit for the kitchen, two nice table lamps with light bulbs included, a small backpack for my camera equipment on beach or hiking trips, and a set of weights to get Jeremy going on regaining his strength after so many years of illness.

You might think to yourself, wow – that’s a lot of stuff, I wonder what they paid for it? I got us a good bargain and love the negotiating part of any garage sale. Twenty dollars, for everything! I really enjoy the days I can feel like we found a good deal.

Maui is fantastic for garage sales. They run year round, every Saturday – usually several dozen on the island. We stick to a 20 minute drive radius most of the time and have found the best bargains at moving sales. When you consider people moving back to the mainland, or even a different island, can’t simply rent a truck and move their belongings – it makes for lots of good condition things at cheap prices! I love it, I really do.

It is now an hour later than in the picture and the clouds have rolled in, making for much better lighting on my lanai. I suppose I could go retake the picture… but who wants to move all those weights back again! Enjoy the sunshine!

8 responses

  1. Great picture of a beautiful place! And congrats on the geat findings! I’m gonna look for a bag for my camera gear too this week and I loved those weights! Just started out with weight lifting again here too, after three almost four years of illness, and I have soo missed it! Best of wishes from Bella in Norway. I am so happy for you!!!

    September 8, 2012 at 5:23 pm

    • Bella!! πŸ˜€ Awesome you’ve started weight lifting too! I’m wanting to do it with Jeremy, but will likely wait a few more weeks at least until the swimming I’m doing helps bring me up to better shape. I’m not sure how well my joints would do with them right now. Love the pup picture on your avatar. πŸ˜€

      Good luck with your camera bag search too! The one I bought was only a dollar, but it needs some repair work, though all the zippers work which is why I thought it would work out. Just kept my eye out and finally found a backpack that didn’t smell weird… so many do at yard sales, what do they do with them?? Never mind, I don’t want to know. lol

      Big hugs – Lisa

      September 8, 2012 at 8:18 pm

      • Thank you, Lisa! Took the picture two days ago πŸ™‚
        I love backpack, I wish I could collect backpacks! I try to run around in the woods with my heavy backpack to get in shape for my next tenttrip. Water is too cold to swim in here, or I would have loved to swim!
        I found a used camerabag on eBay last night that cost only the price of the bus ticket I would have needed to go look for bags locally, so now I’m pleased!
        I’ve got a new tent yesterday, and put two of my tents up in the garden. I wanted to put all three tents up and call it Camp Bella ;D Neighbors were not pleased, I can’t imagine why a few tents in the garden should be such a problem but ;D You would have loved my tents! and I sure love your new place, it looks awesome!!!

        September 9, 2012 at 4:43 am

      • Camp Bella, I love it! That is fantastic you found a bag for the price of a bus ticket – good deal. πŸ˜€ I could never swim in the water in Washington because it was too cold too, but grew up in California swimming in rivers and lakes. I think that is why I am so fond of swimming here. More hugs. πŸ™‚

        September 9, 2012 at 2:26 pm

  2. Awesome finds! Garage sales are year around here in San Francisco too, but the people running them don’t always have a firm grasp on proper garage sale prices. And I hate negotiating!

    September 8, 2012 at 7:26 pm

    • Yay! My big sister has come to comment. πŸ˜€ We’ve run across many people who think you should pay way too much for their used junk. Especially some who try to convince you that it really is worth their ridiculous price – despite me pointing out where the dog chewed on the furniture or other such things!

      Too bad we didn’t live in the same town, I’d save you money on garage sales by negotiating for you! hehe I love doing it, always have since I was a kid. Anytime someone sees Jeremy interested in an item and tells him to “make an offer” he tells them they have to come talk to me. Though I’m nothing like some of the people we see at them. Everything is “give me a discount,” even after they have offered an absurdly low amount for an item.

      I like to show the people respect while negotiating, to me it’s part of the fun in a yard sale and I want everyone to feel good about the purchase when we leave.

      Giant HUGS! πŸ˜€

      September 8, 2012 at 8:53 pm

  3. Snez

    Great job Lisa! πŸ™‚

    I admire you bargaining skills, it is something that I’ve found challenging. Glad you enjoy it so much and that all people come out happy. πŸ™‚ Now that is what I call real skill!
    hugs. πŸ™‚

    September 9, 2012 at 2:30 am

    • Thanks Snez! I’d never thought of everyone coming out happy as being a skill itself, but you’re right! Awesome! πŸ˜€ HuGS!

      September 9, 2012 at 2:23 pm

Leave a Reply

