Sundog –noun 1. parhelion. 2. a small or incomplete rainbow.

Assistant Chiefs for an Afternoon

When you are open to life, you never know what adventure might lie around the corner. Today saw us getting paid for the first time in 10 years by helping our landlady and neighbor, GiGi. She runs a designer cake business at home and when we popped by to see if a package was delivered for us in the mail this morning, we were recruited to help her in the kitchen!

First we helped prepare some locally grown lilikoi (passion fruit) which I think was to be turned into a spread for cake topping. Next GiGi was talking about the strawberries she would be using for various parts of the cake – until she noticed nearly the whole carton was moldy.

Quickly Jeremy and I are off to the local market to buy new strawberries, these ones also locally grown and much fresher looking than the moldy ones bought yesterday from the chain grocery store. Here’s where we received our first paycheck in a decade – $10 to help fill the gas tank! We were also given a large quantity of fruits (bananas, grapefruit, star fruit) which are always appreciated since fruit is far too pricey to buy from even the farmer’s markets we frequent for our produce.

As we left the market laden with strawberries from our successfully completed mission, I couldn’t help but feel like we had just finished a Detour task on The Amazing Race. “You must fill the gas tank and return with 6 cartons of fresh strawberries before you may continue with the race. You have $30 to complete this task.” Go!

Back at GiGi’s, we donned aprons and began to slice 4 cartons of strawberries. We have started a new healing program based on neural retraining and though I found the work difficult at times due to anxiety boiling up and fatigue, I was able to successfully calm my nervous system down again. GiGi took our picture after we finished…

… and wouldn’t you know it, I get caught with the goofy grin when it’s picture time!

9 responses

  1. It all smelled so good too!

    September 14, 2012 at 5:19 pm

  2. Victoria

    What a lovely task to be doing for that payment too.

    Goofy grin or not, nice to see you being productive and not worrying so much about the potential health aftermath.

    Those strawberries look delicious too.

    I’d more or less stopped buying them in the summer (other than a few expensive organic ones) as I’d read that strawberries have the most pesticides & chemicals used in their farming/production. Apparently even washing them doesn’t remove all the chemicals.

    Organic strawberries have become a rare treat (for me).

    V
    xox

    September 14, 2012 at 5:34 pm

    • Perhaps I considered the health aftermath a little too lightly – coming from the last 2 days of needing lots of extra rest due to being feeling overly stimulated that day. We don’t buy strawberries much either, there is one place we can get them for a reasonably priced organic, but it is a rare treat here too. 🙂

      September 17, 2012 at 10:36 am

  3. Way to go! And good seing you guys 🙂 I need to start working on my own anxiety too. I’m taking a bus trip to the capital city of Norway next week to take a weekend Qi Gong class. I rarely travel anywhere, so nerves are building up. But bringing my camera and looking forward to getting out of my own little bubble and seing some people. I guess the rewards can be great if we keep daring to push a little further 🙂
    Big hugs from Bella! I thought it was a beautiful grin 🙂 And you both look so healthy and energetic in this picture! In Norway people often grow strawberries in their gardens, and use no pesticides then, so that it great 🙂

    September 14, 2012 at 6:00 pm

    • I love Qigong! I’d like to do much more of it and always try whenever I get an increase in energy. Yeah, just keep thinking of the trip as a relaxing vacation from everything at home and a fun opportunity to see new things. Usually helps me when I’m anxious about getting out of my bubble too. 🙂

      September 17, 2012 at 10:38 am

  4. Snez

    What a lovely story! I love cooking so you can imagine what a delight it was to read of your cooking adventure and the bonus payment for your work too.
    I’m gald that the Gupta program is helpful with your anxiety.
    Great job all round 🙂
    hugs 🙂

    September 14, 2012 at 6:05 pm

    • Thanks Snez. 🙂

      September 17, 2012 at 10:39 am

  5. Marian

    I lovd the story and your photograph is awesome! You guys look happy…that make me happy!

    October 5, 2012 at 9:13 pm

    • Thanks Marian! We are definitely getting much happier. 😀 Life feels like it’s turning down a different path, one with much more health and happiness. Big hugs! 😀

      October 8, 2012 at 4:02 pm

Leave a Reply

